When the aisle music began, none of us was quite ready. My bridesmaids and I were still getting in place. I didn’t have time to collect myself, but in the blink of an eye, it was all on and I was basically running down the aisle!

Rachel ——We met 15 years ago when I was working as a receptionist at VW while studying. David was a big-shot salesman that I had a crush on. He had no idea, and little did I know that he felt the same way.

We got along so well but we were at different stages in our lives. I went off to explore the world. And for a long time, I thought he was the one that got away, and he also regretted not having acted on his feelings. But we stayed in touch and fate magically brought us back together many years later.

Last winter in Queenstown, we were out on a walk (that’s our ritual: coffee and morning walk) on the golf course (golf is David’s passion). I was talking away, not paying attention, when David just whipped the ring out and stuttered a few words. It took me a moment to realise what was happening.

I had strong visual ideas for the wedding. Owning a catering and special events business, I see a lot of weddings, and working on superyachts for years has given me a keen eye for detail and sophistication. I wanted the day to feel elegant but modern and timeless. David also appreciates the finer things in life, although he trusted my judgement and didn’t really lift a finger. The whole look of the day was nearly a surprise to him and he couldn’t believe what I’d achieved on my own. It was executed to perfection and I couldn’t have been happier.

I love fashion and wanted a dress that reflected the mood of the wedding and my love of old Hollywood elegance and class. A few years back, I’d seen New Zealand model Georgia Fowler wearing an incredible structured dress to a film festival, and I never forgot how simple and modern it was. Taking that as my inspiration, I wanted my dress to be high-end, flattering and comfortable, and I’m also very particular about what suits my shape. Trish Peng has been a friend for some time (love her) and with her incredible knowledge and talent, she was able to tweak her design to suit me perfectly.

David wears suits for work everyday (and looks so good in them) so he decided to wear a tux, his inspo being chic, Italian, class with a James Bond-esque feel. The Bentleys helped to pull off that look for sure.

When the aisle music began, none of us was quite ready. My bridesmaids and I were still getting in place. I didn’t have time to collect myself, but in the blink of an eye, it was all on and I was basically running down the aisle!

PHOTOGRAPHERS: Danelle Bohane, @danellebohane edited by Kirsty Peta Stone, @kirstypetastonephotography / GETTING READY AND FIRST PHOTO LOCATION: The Hotel Britomart, @thehotelbritomart / WEDDING LOCATION & CATERING: Cibo, @ciboparnell / BRIDE’S GOWN: Custom-made by Trish Peng, @trishpeng / SUITS: Working Style, @workingstylenz / RINGS: Custom-made by Sanders, @sanders_jewellers / BRIDE’S EARRINGS: Gucci, @gucci / GROOM’S WATCH: Rolex, @rolex / MAKEUP: Brittany Williamson, @by_brit / FRAGRANCES: Le Labo, @lelabofragrances / BRIDE’S SHOES: Jimmy Choo, @jimmychoo / GROOM’S SHOES: Hugo Boss, @boss / CELEBRANT: Emma Von Veh / FLORA: Michele Coomey, @michelecoomeyfloral / STYLING & PLANNING: Concept and design by bride (Rachel Barratt-Boyesof Côte), @cotenewzealand; executed by Georgia at Flock Events, @flockevents / BRIDESMAIDS’ DRESSES: Johansen Official, @johansenofficial / STATIONERY: Lotte Design, @_lottedesign / HIRE: Folio Hire, @foliohire; The Pretty Prop Shop, @theprettypropshop / CAKE: The Caker, @thecaker / FILM PROJECTION: ‘Roman Holiday’ (1953) ENTERTAINMENT: Steve Barratt-Boyes (father of the bride); Starlight String Trio; After Dinner Club, @afterdinnerclub_ / GIFTING: Contribution to couple’s Italian honeymoon